Anchor Inn Kaikoura

208 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
0800 72 00 33 or +64 03 319 5426

Our Awards and Guest Reviews

The Anchor Inn is rated "4 star plus" by Qualmark, which is New Zealand tourism's official quality agency. This rating is officially described as "Excellent - consistently achieves high quality levels". From 2011 to 2016 we have been awarded with a TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for consistently receiving excellent ratings from reviewers. 

“Super view, excellent experience”

Reviewed 4 August 2016 (marthaczb)

2016/08/04
This is our second time staying at Anchor Inn, and we were not disappointed. Located just enough out of "town" to be quiet, but close enough to walk. The owners are helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Our room for 5 nights was warm, well-equipped, clean, and comfortable for a family of 4. We love the "lounge" area and upstairs bedrooms. A separate toilet and bathroom makes it easier to navigate with kids! The views of sunrise and the bay are amazing, and the little beach across the road kept our 10-year-old happy! Free Wi-Fi, super food recommendations, and DVDs for the kids were just extra touches that helped to make our stay awesome!

“AWESOME!!”

Reviewed 10 July 2016 (Tarrah M)

2016/07/10
AWESOME!! I have stayed at a lot of motels in Kaikoura but The Anchor Inn tops them all by far! Luxurious bedding, towels and everything you need in the kitchenette, owners Lynn and Paul are TUMEKE! (Awesome) They go out of their way to help you and treat you like family, very welcoming. My partner and I stayed in room 2 and woke up to a beautiful view of the sea pretty much on our doorstep. The spa bath and 50 sky channels topped it off especially if you don't want to miss rugby, the stay was worth every cent, highly recommended. Short stroll to town, very clean and modern facilities, fast wifi and laundry facilities couldn't fault anything. Definitely will be staying there again.

“Lyn is a star and Kaikoura is the show”

Reviewed 13 May 2016 (threeshocks)

2016/05/13
Lovely clean and spacious room with gorgeous views. Welcomed with open arms by Lyn on our first visit to Kaikoura ... she recommended spots for dinner, made bookings and generally looked after to us like we were family. Loved our stay and would stay with Lyn again

“Great view and access to beach. Comfortable room.”

Reviewed 6 April 2016 (birder0hi0)

2016/04/06
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lyn greeted us with a friendly smile and offered excellent recommendations for restaurants, especially helpful since I was searching for vegetarian meals. She even called ahead to make reservations and assure the menu choices. The room was comfortable and very clean. We could see the pride Lyn takes in her motel. We had a great ocean view from our room and easy access across the street to the beach - it was exactly what we had hoped for. Of the 15 places we stayed while in New Zealand, this was one of the best.

“Honestly can't fault it..”

Reviewed 7 February 2016 (CharliesGirl)

2016/02/07
My daughter and I stayed at the Anchor Inn for one night whilst on a road trip together. We were in Kaikoura for a whale watching trip (which was amazing!) and our stay at the Anchor Inn just made our whole experience even better. Friendly and efficient check in service, super clean and spacious room (we had an Executive room facing the sea), attention to detail regarding facilities within the room, an extra large kingsize bed and a jacuzzi bath. What more could you want! There has been a fairly recent change of management and they have upheld the fine tradition of this motel and managed to even improve on it. Well done to you both, Lyn and Paul! I hope to return to NZ next year - will definitely stay again here and spend a bit more time.

Anchor Inn Motel Kaikoura

208 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
0800 72 00 33 or +64 03 319 5426
Sky Guest Select Hospitality NZ member